New European Olympic Class Series

The European Sailing Federation (Eurosaf) is reviving the old Eurolymp Sailing Circuit—which ran between 1975 and 2004—to compensate for the International Sailing Federation’s (ISAF) decision to drop the number of European stops in its Sailing World Cup series from five to two in 2013-14.

The new Eurolymp Sailing League, as it is being called, will begin racing in 2013 and include five events, to be coordinated with the two ISAF World Sailing Cup regattas scheduled to take place in France and Spain.

Final event locations and dates had yet to be published at press time. Entries will be open to sailors from all ISAF member countries, with at least two of the events including Paralympic-class racing. Possible new Olympic classes, such as kiteboards, may also be included in some of the regattas.

“By working with the major event organizers in Europe, we believe we have found an excellent solution to the loss of three ISAF Sailing World Cup events, at the same time creating a pathway for talented and up-and-coming sailors into top-level Olympic sailing competition,” says Eurosaf events committee chairman Dan Ibsen.

Photo by Rolex/Daniel Forster

Most Read on Sail

Also Popular on Sail


Leave a Reply