AC Redux

It was a sight to gladden the heart of an America’s Cup traditionalist—nearly a dozen 12-Meters sailing together in Newport, Rhode Island, as part of the 2010 America’s Cup 12-Meter Era Reunion, sponsored by Rolex and hosted by the New York Yacht Club.

The event took place September 17-19, and was preceded by the 12-Meter North American championship, which took place on Rhode Island Sound. Reunion participants included dozens of America’s Cup luminaries, such as Ted Hood, Russell Coutts, Australian skipper Syd Fischer, Halsey Herreshoff, Swedish skipper Pele Petterson, Bruno Trouble of France, Ted Turner, Gary Jobson and Dennis Conner. An impressive twenty-nine members of the 1977 Swedish challenger syndicate, Sverige, made it to the party.

This year’s 12-Meter North American championship included four separate classes: a grand prix division, featuring boats built for the 1983 Cup; a modern division, comprised of boats built between 1974-1983; a traditional division, comprised of boats built between 1958-1970; and a vintage Division, for boats built between 1918-1937, before the class was selected for America’s Cup competition.

Guy Heckman won the grand prix division aboard USA. Ralph Isham and Alexander Auersperg won the modern division aboard Courageous. Ted Turner won the traditional division aboard American Eagle and Kip Curren won the vintage division aboard Northern Light.

Following the regatta, the entire 11-boat fleet took part in the Candy Store Cup, which began out in Rhode Island Sound and finished in Newport. The fleet also took part in a “Reunion Sail” on Saturday, September 18, which not surprisingly turned into an informal race won by Dennis Conner.

Later that same day, the America’s Cup Hall of Fame inducted six new members–Halsey Herreshoff and New Zealanders Simon Daubney, Warwick Fleury, Murray Jones, Dean Phipps and Mike Drummond.

For more on the event, click here.

Most Read on Sail

Also Popular on Sail


Leave a Reply